Board of Directors

LifeSciences BC is governed by a Board of Directors, whose members represent British Columbia’s biopharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical devices, digital health and greater life sciences community. Our board provides guidance, sets policy and ensures that the organization operates effectively in achieving its mandate, which is to foster the economic development of B.C.’s life sciences industry.


Scott Phillips – Founder & CEO, Starfish Medical Inc.

Vice Chair

Ali Ardakani – Founder & Managing Director, Novateur Ventures Inc. 

Past Chair

Nancy Harrison  


Rajveer Hundal – Partner, PwC


Jennifer Cudlipp – President, Excelleris Technologies Inc.

Dr. Pieter Cullis – Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia

Dr. Ester Falconer – Head of R&D, AbCellera

Dr. Lana Janes – Venture Partner at adMare BioInnovations 

David Helliwell – Co-Founder & CEO, Thrive Health

Dr. David Llewellyn Senior Vice President, Business Operations, STEMCELL Technologies

Michael R. Martin – COO and Head, Global Business Development, Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Peter Simpson – Former, Senior Manager of Government Affairs with GlaxoSmithKline 

Anne Stevens –  COO and Director, Aequus Pharmaceuticals

Dr. Pascal Spothelfer – President and CEO, Genome BC

Dr. Gavin Stuart – Vice Provost Health, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia

Dr. James Taylor – CEO, Precision Nanosystems Inc.

Observers to the Board

Joseph Garcia – Partner, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Hector MacKay-Dunn, J.D. Q.C. – Senior Partner, Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP  

Roger Kuypers – Partner, Fasken, Martineau, DuMoulin LLP