June 23, 2014 – BIOTECanada


June 23, 2014 [SAN DIEGO] – Over 600 Canadians will lead the largest international delegation to San Diego for the 2014 BIO International Convention. The annual BIO conference serves as an important networking and partnering event for the global biotech industry. The Canadian delegation is representative of the industry’s national scope and regional diversity. Importantly, the industry will be strongly supported this year by significant political and departmental representation from three levels of government. Joining the 2014 Canadian delegation are:

The Honourable Mike Lake, Parliamentary Secretary of Industry, Premier Robert Ghiz (Prince Edward Island), Premier Dave Hancock (Alberta), Minister Fed Horne (Alberta), Minister Theresa Oswald (Manitoba), Minister Yves Bolduc and Jacques Daoust (Quebec), Minister Michel Samson (Nova Scotia), and Mayor Hazel McCallion (Mississauga).

“A scan of the BIO trade show floor provides a good sense of how important it is for industry and government to work in partnership to advance the Canadian biotech sector. The BIO Conference demonstrates how truly global the industry is with other nations and regions within nations doing what they can to attract companies and investors. Canada must keep pace with this competition if it is to capitalize on the significant social and economic benefits biotech innovation can deliver. In this context, the strong support of the governments in attendance is greatly appreciated by the industry.”

In addition to political participation, BIOTECanada, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, and Industry Canada continue to support Canada’s life sciences industry at BIO 2014 by providing Canadian organizations with complimentary access to the 2014 BIO Business Forum. Investment capital and partnerships are essential to transforming innovation into commercial entities. The 2014 BIO Business Forum offers an unparalleled opportunity for networking with biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies, academic research institutions, and investors from around the world.

Companies participating in the 2014 program include: Kane Biotech, Milestone, KMT Hepatech, Adetherapeutics, Angiochem, Marsala, Novologics, DelMar Pharma, Akshaya, Asmacure Ltée, Ceapro, DeNovaMed, Aspect Bio, BioVectra, Sirona, SignalChem, Neurodyn, Laurent Pharmaceuticals, ViDa Therapeutics, and Nordic Life Sciences.

Organizations participating in the Canadian delegation include the Government of Ontario, Government of Manitoba, Genome Canada, Genome Atlantic, Genome Québec, Ontario Genomic Institute, Genome Prairie, Genome Alberta, Genome British Columbia, BioAlberta, AG-West Bio, Atlantic Canada Bio-Industries Alliance, (Bio Atlantech, BioNova , PEI BioAlliance, NATI), Trade Commissioner Service – Government of Canada, Government of Quebec, Alberta Innovates, BioTalent, Gowlings, Innovation PEI, Medicago, Nova Scotia Business Inc., Norton Rose, Smart & Biggar, NutriSource, Bereskin & Parr. Nadine Lunt
613-230-5585 x257