Lesley Esford Appointed to Innovate BC Board of Directors

VANCOUVER, BC – May 16, 2018, LifeSciences BC is pleased to announce the appointment of its President and CEO, Dr. Lesley Esford, to the Board of Directors of Innovate BC. The role of Innovate BC is to help guide and promote tech sector growth, generating good jobs in the emerging economy, increased revenue and economic development all around British Columbia. Innovate BC was created in March 2018 following the passing of the British Columbia Innovation Council Amendment Act, which expanded the mandate of the BC Innovation Council, and renamed it Innovate BC.

“I am honored to accept this appointment to the board of Innovate BC.” commented Dr. Esford. “It is an exciting time to be involved in the technology sector in B.C. where we are creating an environment in which entrepreneurs can continue to thrive. I look forward to helping shape the important programs and services that Innovate BC will be putting in place.”

Minister of Jobs, Trade and Technology, Bruce Ralston, made the announcement at the #BCTECH Summit. Innovate BC is the province’s new innovation commission, and it will review current provincial technology and innovation programs and make recommendations on how to help grow the sector provincewide. “With a highly qualified board in place, Innovate BC is ready to help entrepreneurs take full advantage of the economic opportunities ahead,” said B.C. Green Party Leader Andrew Weaver.

Dr. Esford will be joined by 11 other Board members they are:

  • Alan Shaver (Innovate BC chair), president and vice-chancellor, Thompson Rivers University
  • Michael Fergusson, CEO and founder, Ayogo
  • Suzanne Gill, executive director, corporate development, Genome BC
  • Joy Johnson, vice-president, research and international, Simon Fraser University (SFU
  • Dave Krysko, co-founder, Club Penguin, entrepreneur-in-residence, Okanagan College
  • Gail Murphy, professor and vice-president of research, UBC
  • Peter Nunoda, president, Vancouver Community College
  • Jennifer Ouano, co-founder and executive producer, Pacific Content
  • Tom Roemer, vice-president academic, B.C. Institute of Technology
  • Benjamin Sparrow, co-founder and CEO, Saltworks
  • Don Stuckert, principal, dstuckert & Associates
  • Alan Winter (ex-officio member), B.C. innovation commissioner

For more information contact:

Susan Ogilvie
Manager, Communications & External Affairs
LifeSciences BC
Office Direct: 604.669.9909 Ext. 6
Email: sogilvie@lifesciencesbc.ca